Massey College was established by the Master and Fellows of Massey College Act (1960-61) Bill-34-Statute-7, which was amended in 1974. It  is governed by an elected Governing Board, made up of Senior Fellows and chaired by the Principal. You can read the by-laws here.

Its connection with the University of Toronto was established at the same time with Bill-115-Massey-U-of-T. The relationship is recognized through ex officio membership on the Governing Board of the President of the University of Toronto and the Dean of School of Graduate Studies.

Other members of the College community join in a number of committees which report to the Governing Board. A considerable degree of self-governance of the Junior Fellowship (the College’s full-time graduate students) is implemented through the annual election of a Don of Hall, other student officers, and committee members.

is the College ombudsman and fulfills important constitutional and ceremonial functions.

are elected from prominent representatives of both academic and professional interests at the University of Toronto.

is the chief administrative officer who, together with those Senior Fellows elected to the Governing Board, governs the College.

who assist the Principal of the College are the Librarian, the Bursar and the Dean, who is also Secretary of the Governing Board.

Principal of College:

1963 to 1981
Robertson Davies

1981 to 1988
J.N. Patterson Hume

1988 to 1995
Ann Saddlemyer

1991 to 1992
Stefan Dupre

1995 to 2014
John Fraser

2014 to 2019
Hugh Segal

2019 to Present
Nathalie Des Rosiers

College Visitors:

1963 to 1967
The Rt. Hon. Vincent Massey

1973 to 1976
The Hon. Dalton C. Wells

1990 to 1995
The Hon. John B. Aird

1996 to 2003
Dr. Rose Wolfe

2003 to 2016
The Hon. H.N.R. Jackman

The Rt. Hon. Beverley McLachlin