High Table – Clarkson Laureates

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

High Table – Clarkson Laureates

January 11 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm EST


The Clarkson Laureateship for Public Service is awarded annually by Massey College to members of its community. The Clarkson Laureateship Awards  began in 2004 to honour the public service of the Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson.

The Clarkson Laureateship in Public Service, the highest honour the College awards annually to members of its community, this year goes to two outstanding individuals:
Mr. Andrew Kaufman, a third-year Resident Junior Fellow, “has been and remains a compelling symbol of concern for others at Massey. As a Chair of the Community Service Committee, he led Massey to participate in “Out of the Cold” program, organized the Scholars at Risk Gown Run, planned and executed the Robbie Burns Charity auction. …Andrew has also been an active and eloquent supporter of constructive improvement at Massey College in ways that embrace and reflect the growing diversity of the student population.”
Ms. Hadiya Roderique, Alumna, “has been a transformative force in every community, institution, and organization of which she has been a member. … It is one of her signature gifts as a leader in public service that she has been able to deliver uncompromising calls for equity, diversity, and inclusion across a range of organizations in such a way that they can be truly embraced. Her commitment to this advocacy, and the impressively forthright style that she brings to it, has meant real changes in the private and public sector across Canada.”
The awarding of Clarkson Laureateship was approved by the Governing Board in 2003 and the first awards were given out in 2004, during the final year that Madam Clarkson, a Senior Fellow of the College, was Governor General of Canada. The award honours her many years of service to Canada by recognizing those members of its community who also contribute to the common good. The call for nominations goes out in each issue of Massey News and is also distributed by email. The names of nominated community members are always kept on a long list for three years.
The committee met at the College on Thursday, December 13th under the joint chairmanship of Principal Hugh Segal and the Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson. The Laureateship will be awarded at the upcoming special High Table on Friday January 11th 2019 in the presence of the Laureates’ guests, former recipients and Massey College peers.
Hon. Hugh Segal, OC,OOnt


January 11
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm


4 Devonshire Place
Toronto, Ontario M5S 2E1 Canada


Tickets are not available as this event has passed.