Massey College Books











Massey College Books is a newly created publishing imprint under the House of Anansi Press, dedicated to publishing books by writers who are members of the Massey College community.

House of Anansi Press will be the official publisher for Massey College, and Massey College will work in tandem with Anansi to solicit, select and publish works of nonfiction that will appeal to a wide commercial audience, between 50,000 and 100,000 words.

HOUSE OF ANANSI PRESS was founded in 1967 by writers Dennis Lee and David Godfrey. Anansi started as a small press with a mandate to publish Canadian writers, and quickly gained attention for publishing authors such as Margaret Atwood, Matt Cohen, Michael Ondaatje, and Erín Moure, as well as George Grant and Northrop Frye. French-Canadian works in translation have always been an important part of the list, and prominent Anansi authors in translation include Roch Carrier, Marie-Claire Blais, Anne Hébert, and France Daigle. Today, the company specializes in finding and developing writers of literary fiction, poetry, drama, and nonfiction, including Katherena Vermette, Lisa Moore, Patrick deWitt, Tanya Talaga, Eric Siblin, Elizabeth Renzetti, Harold Johnson, Judy Rebick, Djamila Ibrahim, Patti Laboucane-Benson, Teva Harrison, Kathleen Winter, and Leanne Betasamosake Simpson. Anansi is also known for its long-standing partnership with CBC Radio and Massey College in producing the prestigious CBC Massey Lectures series, authors of whom include Margaret MacMillan, Payam Akhavan, Jennifer Welsh, Adam Gopnik, Margaret Atwood, Stephen Lewis, Ronald Wright, and Neil Turok, among many others. In addition, the company maintains the culturally significant backlist that has accumulated in the decades since the house was founded. Since 2000, House of Anansi Press has been owned by Scott Griffin, the Canadian businessman and philanthropist best known for founding the Griffin Poetry Prize, one of the world’s most generous poetry awards, and Poetry In Voice, a bilingual recitation competition for Canadian high schools.